About Davanagere University

Davangere University is one of the youngest State Universities located in central Karnataka. It comes under Davangere and Chitradurga jurisdiction and is headquartered at Davangere.  Earlier, Davangere was part of Chitradurga District and got declared as district headquarters on 15th August 1997 and is emerging as an important educational centre besides being a well-known commercial and industrial town in Karnataka. Davangere University prior to its establishment functioned as a Post-Graduate (PG) Centre of the University of Mysore from 1979 to 1987 and later, with the establishment of Kuvempu University in 1987, functioned as its P.G. Centre up to 2009.

Davangere University was established on 18th August to meet the educational aspirations of the people of this region. The university has 124 Colleges affiliated to it in total, with one Constituent College and one Autonomous College, offering Graduate and PG programs in various disciplines catering educational needs of more than 60,000 students. The lush green campus is 72.14 acres consisting of an admin block, Buildings for Bio-science, New Science, MBA, Humanities ; Knowledge Plaza, open-air theatre, guest house, 6 hostels and two canteens. It has a playground, indoor stadium, Gym, Health Centre, Post office, SBI bank and ATM, NSS Unit, well equipped Computer labs and language lab, seminar halls.  As the University firmly believes in the importance of research, conscious steps have been taken to set research centres like University Scientific Instrumentation Centre, Food Processing Centre, Centre for Device Development and IPR cell.

Davangere University’s PG Centre Janangangotri was established in the year 2010 located at Guddada Rangavana (G.R.) Halli (81.2 acres) on Solapur National Highway, with the specific purpose of enhancing the access to Higher Education for the students from rural, remote, and backward areas of this region. SC, ST, OBC & other Minorities and girl students of this region who exceed 60%.

University College of Visual Arts was established by the Government of Karnataka in June 1964 and was under the control of the Director of Technical Education, Bangalore. Initially, Diploma Courses in Art for a duration of 5 years was offered in two Disciplines i.e., (i) Painting (ii) Commercial Art.


Jnanagangotri - Post-Graduate Centre of Davangere University at Chitradurga:

Jnanagangotri, Post-Graduate (P.G) Centre of Davangere University at Chitradurga was established in the year 2010 with the approval of the authorities of the university with the specific purpose to enhance the access…

Learn More

Location of the University

Davangere and Chitradurga Districts are centrally located in the State of Karnataka on NH-4. Davangere is very well connected by road and railways (with a distance of 265 kms road, and 327 kms by railways) from Bangalore, the state capital of Karnataka…

Read More