Department of Studies in Economics, which started functioning from 1979 is as old as the Post-Graduate Center, Davangere. It was established by the University of Mysore and later from 1987 to 2009 functioned under the jurisdiction of Kuvempu University. The department offers M.A., M.Phil and Ph.D., Programme in Economics. The fields of specialization include: Agricultural Economics, Rural Development, Environmental Economics, Development Studies, Financial Institutions and Markets, Industrial Economics, Infrastructure Economics, Human Development and Econometrics.The department is committed to impart quality education to the students and encourage research activities.

Vision of the Department:

Department intends to be research oriented with an emphasis on value addition and uphold the dignity and academic excellence of the University.

Mission of the Department:

The Department is dedicated to higher learning and gives an exposure to the students’ community to newer heights of knowledge to promote excellence in higher education.


Name of Faculty Qualification Designation
Dr. N.K. Gowda M.A., Ph.D. Professor
Dr. B.P. Veerabhadrappa M.A., Ph.D. Associate Professor
Dr. K.B. Rangappa M.A.,B.Ed. Ph.D Associate Professor and Chairman
Smt. Suchitra S. M.Sc., M.A. Assistant Professor
Number of Guest Faculty : 3