Food Technology

Davangere University (the then Kuvempu University) introduced the MSc Course in Food Technology in the year 2005. Davangere University became the first university in Karnataka to offer formal studies in Food technology leading to Masters’ and then to M.Phil., and Ph.D., degrees. The department has sufficiently-equipped laboratory, class room, and experienced teachers. The driving force to start this course was Prof. Basavaraj Madhusudhan, Department of Biochemistry, Davangere University. Currently, MSc Course is being conducted under Choice Based Credit System with 4-tier semester system. Food Technology course is highly academic and industry oriented programme. Being interdisciplinary in nature, it has wide avenues for teaching, research and industry oriented programmes.

Innovative Academic Programmes of the Department

Both formal and informal methods with opportunities for the students’ participation in the form of seminar, discussion and preparation of articles are followed in the teaching methods along with the blend of audio-visual aids. There is a continuous effort from staff and students to engage in research activities and to publish research articles in national and international journals of repute. They also present papers in seminars, conferences and workshops. Several papers have received awards. The department acknowledges the significant contribution made by Dr. Mahadevaiah, former Deputy Director, CFTRI, Mysore bringing a proper perspective in packaging education and research.

Highlights of the Department

Orientation programmes are being conducted for freshers in the department enabling them to participate in national level and regional level seminars and conferences. The students celebrate national and traditional events conducted by the department/various organizations. Professional, educational, industrial and cultural tours also arranged as part of the academic programme

Name of Faculty Qualification Designation
Dr. B. Madhusudhan M.Sc., Ph.D. Professor and Co-ordinator
Number of Guest Faculty : 6